Mary promises these benefits of Praying the Seven Sorrows Rosary

Mary’s promises to Marie Claire in Kibeho, Rwanda 

“With the recitation of the Seven Sorrows Rosary, the hardest hearts shall change,                                                         if you pray it for yourself or for others.”

“By the recitation of the Seven Sorrows Rosary, you shall be freed from obsessions and addictions.”

“This rosary when said from the heart, it will win us true repentance of our sins and free our souls from guilt and remorse.”

“Those who say it often, especially as re-commended by Our Lady to Marie Claire, on Tuesdays and Fridays, shall obtain clear understanding of their weaknesses and flaws causing them to sin and those things we don’t like about ourselves and thought were a part of our character, shall change.”

“You shall obtain whatever you ask for through this rosary, praying this rosary from the heart.”

Mary’s promises to Saint Bridget of Sweden

”I will grant peace to their families.”

”They will be enlightened about the divine Mysteries.”

”I will console them in their pains and will accompany them in their work.”

”I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.”

”I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”

”I will visibly help them at the moment of their death– they will see the face of their mother.”

”I have obtained this grace from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”


Matt used to always say – The world needs this rosary now, more than ever.

Where to buy the Seven Sorrows Rosary

The Seven Sorrows Rosary is unique as it features 7 sorrows to meditate on vs 5 mysteries and contains 7 beads in between for the Hail Marys vs 10.

A terrific resource to purchase the rosary is at  She is also a beautiful resource to learn more about Our Lady of Kibeho or join Immaculee on her pilgrimages there.

How to pray the Seven Sorrows Rosary

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows, reminds us that Mary plays a key role in our Redemption and that she suffered along with her Son Jesus to save us. It is prayed using a special rosary comprised of seven “decades” containing seven beads each.

Here is how the Chaplet of Seven Sorrows is prayed:

Each group of seven is begun with an Our Father, as in the regular Rosary. Some people start with an Act of Contrition, since the devotion has a penitential aspect. Also like the regular Rosary, the groups of seven Hail Marys are an occasion for meditation on “Mysteries” — in this case, the Seven Sorrows of Mary, listed below:

The First Sorrow

The Prophecy of Simeon
Reading: Luke 2:25-35.

When Mary and Joseph present the infant Jesus in the temple, Simeon predicts that a “sword” (of sorrow) will pierce Mary’s soul.

The Second Sorrow

The flight into Egypt
Reading: Matthew 2:13-15.

When King Herod orders the death of all male children age two or younger, Mary and Joseph flee to Egypt with the infant Jesus.

The Third Sorrow

The Child Jesus Lost in the Temple
Reading: Luke 2: 41-50.

Mary and Joseph search for the child Jesus for three days, finding Him at last — after agonizing sorrow — in the temple.

The Fourth Sorrow

Mary meets Jesus carrying the cross
Reading: Luke 23: 27-29.

As Jesus makes His way to Calvary, condemned to crucifixion, He meets His mother, Mary. He is bruised, derided, cursed and defiled and her sorrow is absolute as Jesus drags His own cross up the hill of His crucifixion.

The Fifth Sorrow

Mary at the foot of the cross
Reading: John 19: 25-30.

Mary stands near her dying Son unable to minister to him as He cries “I thirst.” She hears Him promise heaven to a thief and forgive His enemies. His last words, “Behold your mother,” charge us to look on Mary as our mother.

The Sixth Sorrow

Mary receives the body of Jesus
Reading: Psalm 130.

Jesus is taken down from the cross and His body is placed in Mary’s arms. The passion and death are over, but for His mother, grief continues. She holds His body in her arms.

The Seventh Sorrow

Mary witnesses the burial of Jesus
Reading: Luke 23: 50-56.

The body of Jesus is laid in the tomb. The most tragic day in history ends, Mary alone in sorrow, awaiting the Resurrection.


Contemplating the pain Mary endured along side Christ.

Matt wanted people to try to comprehend the pain Christ went through for our salvation so he created these. Spikes about the size used to nail Jesus to the cross. A club with bones tied to it for the scouring at the pillar and when carrying the cross. This powerful image is accompanied by Seven Sorrows Rosaries from Kibeho and Chaplets.